Sterling Heights Divorce Attorneys
The divorce process can be fraught with emotion and stress. This is especially true if you have children to worry about. However, resolving your divorce issues does not have to be complicated if you secure the counsel of an experienced attorney dedicated to protecting the rights of you and your loved ones.
Are you considering filing for divorce? Do you need assistance determining which method of divorce is right for you? Are you worried about the health and overall wellbeing of your children? At Corrado Law Group, P.C., we understand the complexities that accompany a divorce case. As such, we are well equipped to help you navigate your divorce issues with support and ease.
- Alimony. Financial payments made to help support a spouse or former spouse during separation or following divorce.
- Dissolution. Another word for divorce, which is the legal termination of a marriage relationship.
- Prenuptial agreement. An agreement entered into before marriage that sets forth each party's rights and responsibilities should the marriage terminate by death or divorce.
- Spousal support or maintenance. Financial payments made to help support a spouse or former spouse during separation or following divorce.
If you need a supportive, knowledgeable lawyer committed to your success as you navigate a divorce, do not hesitate to contact our firm online today.
How to Get Divorced in Michigan
Here are the steps you must take to file for divorce in Michigan:
- Consult with an experienced lawyer to ensure your rights and interests are protected
- Ensure you and your spouse meet the residency requirements
- Determine the reason for filing for divorce (Michigan is a no-fault divorce state; however, conduct will affect alimony and property division)
- File a summons, complaint, and additional paperwork with the county clerk
- Serve your spouse divorce papers (someone else will need to do this for you as you cannot do this yourself)
- Adhere to the 2-month or 6-month waiting period (you must wait 6 months if you have children. This waiting period begins once you file your divorce paperwork with the court)
- Resolve your divorce issues outside of court or with the court’s assistance (if you have children, you may have to work with Friend of the Court and meet with a child custody evaluator or case worker)
What Is a No-Fault State?
Michigan is a no-fault divorce state, which means that you do not need to show why you are filing for a divorce. You only need to show that you wish to end your marriage. The only ground for divorce in Michigan is that the marriage has broken down and there is no likelihood that you and your spouse will get back together.
Residency Requirement to File for Divorce
There is a 6-month residency requirement to file for a divorce in the State of Michigan. Also, you must also live in the county you are filling in for at least 10 days prior to filing your complaint.
Common Divorce Issues
While divorce does dissolve your marriage, it also encompasses so much more. You will also need to negotiate child custody, child support, alimony, and the division of marital assets and property. While these issues can be determined by a judge, if you are seeking a less expensive, more amicable type of divorce, you may want to resolve these issues with your spouse by coming to an agreement.
What is The Process of Getting a Divorce?
File the divorce petition
Request temporary court orders
File proof of service
Negotiate a settlement
Go to trial, if necessary
Finalize the judgment
Consult with an Experienced Attorney at Our Firm
Our attorneys know that divorce can be a stressful time, which is why we do our best to make the legal side of everything as easy on you as possible. We make ourselves available on purpose, so you can reach us whenever you have questions and concerns. Additionally, with our compassionate approach and commitment to maintaining family dynamics whenever possible, you can rest assured that we will do whatever we can to keep your case out of the courtroom. However, in the event you must litigate, we are always trial-ready.
“Talia and the Corrado Law Group, PC helped me with a challenging custody case for several years”- Amanda
“She is professional, knowledgeable, and will have your back as your lawyer.”- Sarah
“At times adoption can be a scary process, but Talia and Tonya make sure that you understand everything.”- Amanda
Q:How long does it take to get divorced?
A:If you do not have any minor children, a divorce can be granted in as soon as 60 days. If you do have minor children, a divorce usually takes about six months to complete. Certain factors can prolong a divorce proceeding and we can inform you of those factors at your initial consultation.
Q:How long do I have to live in Michigan to file divorce?
A:There is a six month residency requirement to file for a divorce in the State of Michigan. Also, you must also live in the county you are filing in for 10 days prior to filing your complaint.
Q:How much are the filing fees for a divorce?
A:Filing fees for a divorce vary depending on where you are filing and whether you have a minor child. You can expect to pay between $175 and $255.
Q:How long after meeting with you could you file the papers?
A:We have a quick turn around time for filing divorce. We can possibly get your case filed within one day if it is necessary. Usually, it takes less than a week to file your case after your initial consultation.
Q:My spouse has filed for divorce, what can I do to stop it?
A:Michigan is a no fault divorce state so once a divorce is filed, it cannot be stopped unless the party who filed the case agrees to dismiss the case.
Q:I’ve heard Michigan is a “no fault” divorce state. What does that mean?
A:It is true that Michigan is a “no fault” divorce state. That means that neither the husband nor the wife in the marriage needs to show a reason to file for a divorce. You only need to show the desire to end the marriage.
Q:Do you offer payment plans?
A:Yes. Payment plans are available.
Q:What types of payments do you accept?
A:We accept payments in cash, personal check, money orders, cashier checks, and major credit cards.
Q:How do your fees work?
A:You can retain our office for legal representation for a small retainer fee. We will charge you an hourly fee thereafter for work performed. Payments are due on a monthly basis, for work performed after the retainer fee is exhausted.
Advocates for Your Family's Best Interests
Extensive Courtroom Experience
Compassionate Approach to Every Case
Exclusively Focused on Family Law & Adoption Matters